Leaving Mint and DC

People seem shocked when I tell them I left Mint.   Let me preface this by telling you a little about mint and what I did there.  Mint is an upscale health club which I have worked at for the last 3.5 years.  I started there as a personal trainer, taught circuit training and spin classes, worked up to group exercise director and for my last year there I was the Fitness Director.  Basically managing all training, pilates and group exercise people and situations at the club.  I loved working there, I met some amazing people, it had a cool vibe and great natural light.

So back to people being shocked.  Basically I’ve been wanting to do something different for a while now, namely travelling and climbing.  It’s weird being so invested in climbing as to be honest I’m not that good at it. I’m better then average but compared to other sports like running I don’t stack up.  It’s just so damn fun and addicting.  My desire to have some fun and do some travelling around, coupled with the timing of some family issues I’d like to help out with spurred a dramatic decision.  It was time to leave Mint and at least for the time being DC.  I love DC, I’ve moved here three times and lived here as long as any other place I’ve ever lived (9 years, just about tied with Tilton NH).  I know it better then any other city and in a lot of ways I consider it my home.  I live in a huge townhouse on Hst NE, the coolest section of DC right now) in a beautiful, long room with hardwood floors that also has great natuaral light (can you tell I’m a fan of sunshine? It’s the major reason I don’t still live in Oregon).  It’s going to be hard to leave but I’m a bit of a nomad by nature and this is the longest I’ve stayed any one place since college (also DC). I got lots of cool trips planned out in my mind but I’m completely winging it as of now and have not booked anything so check in here if you’d like some updates.

This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

