Round the World Ticket or One Way Tickets?

It’s snowed 2ft in the last two days here in Colorado

I took a two hour long hike through a nearby state park (where I saw the very cold looking ducks) and I thought a lot about whether or not I want to do a true round the world trip or if I want to do it in legs buying one-way tickets as a go.   I’ve made a preliminary pro’s and con’s list.

Pro’s RTW Ticket

Pro’s One Way Tickets

  • I like the romance of going in one direction until I end up in the same place
  • All total would be cheaper for the same amount of travel.
  • Once I buy the ticket it’s definite I’m going
  • I wouldn’t come back to the USA between any locations
  • More freedom, can make snap decisions
  • Step-Father works for American Airlines and I can stand-by for some flights out of the USA
  • Most travel books/blogs I’ve read recommend this style
  • I could come back to the USA between some locations

Con’s RTW Ticket

Cons’s One Way Tickets

  • You have to fix your itinerary ahead of time. Changing dates is expensive
  • It would be nice to visit the family
  • All total will probably more expensive

Right now I’m leaning towards winging it and going with the one way tickets.  More Freedom. What do you think?

This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

