Namaste from 11,286ft

So I made it to Namche Bazaar!  I’m sitting in an internet cafe using a computer so I’m going to be very brief.  I took the bus from Kathmandu to Jiri then started trekking.  It’s been seven days on the trail, overall tough but not killer so far.  Staying in teahouses, they’re all pretty similar and quite nice. Some of them have amazing views. From here I’m headed up to Everest Base Camp and Kala Patthar. Basically I’m halfway up. It would take hours to give the real lowdown of the trip so to save time I’m going to break this down to bullet points.

  • I’ve walked over 60 miles, mostly up and down steep slopes.
  • You gain and lose more elevation in the hike I just did then climbing Everest.
  • Slept at 10,000 feet (tonight 11,000!)
  • Dahl Bhat is not bad, but that doesn’t mean I want to eat it twice a day like my guide Danzing
  • I could kill for a hamburger
  • Nepali doorways were not built with me in mind.  I’ve cracked my head hard about 6 times.
  • I’ve been run off the trail by goats, cows, dogs, donkeys and now yaks.
  • Nepali porters can carry an UNREAL amount of weight up steep mnt trails (pics to come)
  • Ran into and trekked with, someone who went to the same middle school in a tiny town in NH as me, only two years before me.  We knew tons of the same people
  • I saw a monkey playing in the woods/jungle as we walked through
  • Nepali seem to like their tea extremely sweet, which is awesome for me
  • Visited some very cool Gompas (Buddhist monasteries)
  • I smell very badly at this point
  • When the path joined with the one from Lukla I was actually kind of jealous that all the people who flew into Lukla were now invading “my” territory. The 6 days before that I’d only seen the same eight non-nepali as we leapfrogged each other on the trail, and locals.
  • I went a full week without checking my email for the first time in as long as I can remember
  • I’ve taken 341 pics on my camera and several videos but dont feel like trying to upload them here so I’ll leave you with two taken with my phone.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Namaste from 11,286ft

  1. Edmundo says:

    Wow, Sean! I’m in awe! Keep going, brother. Our thoughts are with you.

  2. Manish says:

    Everything about your trip sounds incredible. I’m experiencing a mix of awe, jealousy, and excitement reading about it. Right now I’m folding laundry and trying to figure out the least annoying time to go to Trader Joe’s. Be safe and keep blogging!

Leave a Reply

